Cover Your Bum Cloth Diaper Bank

Standard

I had the most amazing day yesterday and I thought this would be a great place to share my excitement!

My friend Lisa and I were invited to be part of the Ride4diapers.org welcoming event yesterday. Newborns in Need in Springfield has launched their new diaper bank and they have received funding to help our cloth diaper bank get started as well!

We were asked to talk at the event about the needs and wants of many new parents to learn about cloth diapers. Many families are very interested in cloth diapering their children, but the start-up costs can be very overwhelming especially to a family in financial need. We are working with a local food pantry to help offer assistance to needy families. They will be housing the diapers at their warehouse. We will be training their staff on the proper care of cloth diapers and offering monthly trainings to families.

The point of our cloth diaper bank is not to give you cloth diapers for the babies full diapering life, but to be your “friend” that loans you the diapers for a few months until you are able to purchase your own diapers. We have different options for different needs. As much as I would love to cloth diaper all of Springfield, I know that isn’t possible for all families. We just want to be able to help families provide for their children.

After I did my talk the lady news person that was doing the talk there said she wanted to talk with me more about doing cloth diapers for her daughter (who will be one in a few days) and she also wanted to do a news segment on cloth diapers. WOW! I really didn’t think I was that convincing about cloth diapers. Pretty cool. So watch for a future posting about that! Maybe the news link if it goes online!!

If you are interesting in learning or helping out our cloth diaper bank, check us out on Facebook at Cover Your Bum Cloth Diaper Bank or you can email us at coveryourbumdiapers@gmail.com We would love to have your support!

Happy Cloth!

~ Kelly

I also wanted to thank some of our wonderful donors, Glow Bug Cloth Diapers and a wonderful lady that jsut showed up at the event and gave us homemade covers and AIO small diapers, Sazzy Baby Assets and of course Newborns in Need and Crosslines for support our vision!

2 responses »

  1. Hi, I am a doula with the Doula Foundation. I have a client who bought cloth diapers which are all too big. Her boy leaks out of them. Do you have smaller ones for the loan program for a 7 lb. baby? i am thinking that might not work for the loan then buy since her baby by then might be out of them. Any suggestions?

    Also, who do I direct my clients to? Is there a number or do they go to the website and leave a message here?

Leave a Reply

